This depends on the genotype but also external factors, such as diet. The growth of the cat is divided into six phases. If we know them, we can offer the kitten a healthy start to life and help him grow in the best possible way.

Cat growth in six phases

Pregnant cats give birth to their kittens after about 66 days. Right now, the precious little ones weigh less than 100 grams, but in the coming months, they will quickly turn into curious little tigers. The growth of a cat is divided into several phases:

1st phase: the first week of life

After being born, kittens, still blind and weak, need their mother’s milk. Breast milk, called colostrum, contains essential nutrients and protective antibodies (protective proteins). The latter is necessary for the kittens’ health, as their immune system is still inexperienced and weakened. Also, since they don’t have all their hair yet, they need their mother’s protective warmth.

After a week or so, the kittens open their eyes and lose the umbilical cord through drying. For kittens to start living healthy, it is essential to control their daily weight. Using weight tables, you can check if they grow correctly and adjust their diet if necessary.

2nd phase: the arrival of baby teeth

Between the third and eighth week, the first milk teeth appear. The complete milk teeth of cats contain 26 little teeth, much smaller and more pointed than adult teeth.

3rd phase: the first solid foods

In addition, they begin to accept solid foods. This is the time to start offering them soft puppy food gradually. This change in diet should be slow. The digestive system is still used to breast milk and adapt to the new diet. Otherwise, they could have diarrhoea, constipation, and stomach aches.

Correct feeding at an early age plays a vital role in a cat’s growth. The exceptional food helps to meet the high energy demand of the animal.

Cat growth

4th Phase: the kittens don’t stop growing

The kittens eat mostly solid food. Therefore, they continue to grow and have a higher demand for energy and nutrients than their adult relatives. Therefore, you must give them special food for kittens, designed specifically for this vital phase. It is up to you if you prefer to give them, I think, wet food.

Also, this is the time to take them for the first time to the vet. He will inform you about important vaccinations and, if necessary, about the correct feeding of kittens.

In the third and the sixth month of life, teeth change occurs. In this period, the baby teeth are replaced by 30 permanent teeth. For comparison: people have about 32 permanent teeth, while dogs have 42.

5th phase: from kitten to cat

After seven exciting months, the cats are adults. Cats are in heat and can become pregnant, and cats reach sexual maturity within a month. After informing yourself and reflecting, you can assess castration from this moment.

6th phase: end of cat growth

Cats have already reached their first year of life and are much calmer. Also, they will no longer increase in size from now on. After about eight years full of experience, the hairs in the mouth area will begin to whiten. 

Cat growth: how much can cats measure and weigh?

Here you cannot generalize. On the one hand, the cat’s growth depends on its genes and other factors, such as feeding in the kitten stage. On the other hand, the common European cat is usually between 80 and 90 centimetres long in our regions. 

On the other hand, instead, Adult Maine Coon cats (especially males) can grow up to 120 centimetres in length.

Weight also varies based on race and sex: Male Persian cats can weigh up to eight kilos; instead, Bengal cats, weighing only three to four kilos, are true featherweights.

How long do cats live?

A healthy cat lives an average of 15 years, but some even reach 19 years. This is an individual figure that depends on the hereditary factor. Illnesses and inadequate or insufficient feeding can harm the age of cats.